

SCRUTINY COMMITTEE THURSDAY, 28 JANUARY, 2016

A MEETING of the SCRUTINY COMMITTEE will be held in the COUNCIL CHAMBER, COUNCIL HEADQUARTERS, NEWTOWN ST BOSWELLS on THURSDAY, 28 JANUARY, 2016 at 10.15

ΑM

J. J. WILKINSON, Clerk to the Council,

21 January 2016

BUSINESS		
1.	Apologies for Absence	
2.	Order of Business	
3.	Declarations of Interest	
4.	Minute (Pages 1 - 8)	2 mins
	Minute of the meeting of 26 November 2015 to be approved and signed by the Chairman. (Copy attached).	
5.	Maintenance of Roads (Pages 9 - 16)	30 mins
	Consider report by Service Director Neighbourhood Services and Service Director Commercial Services. (Copy attached).	
6.	Membership of Scrutiny Committee	10 mins
	Consider a proposal to amend the Council's Scheme of Administration to allow the addition of three non-voting external members on the Scrutiny Committee and that these additional members will also be eligible to be non-voting members of a Scrutiny Working Group.	
7.	Scrutiny Reviews (Pages 17 - 20)	15 mins
	Update on Subjects included in the Future Scrutiny Review Programme. (Copy attached).	
8.	Any other Items Previously Circulated	
9.	Any Other Items which the Chairman Decides are Urgent	
10.	Items Likely to be Taken in Private	
	Before proceeding with the private business, the following motion should be	

	approved:- That under Section 50A(4) of the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973, the public be excluded from the meeting for the following item of business on the grounds that they involve the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in paragraph 9 of Part 1 of Schedule 7A of the aforementioned Act.	
11.	Private Minute (Pages 21 - 22)	2 mins
12.	Date of Next Meeting	
	The next meeting of Scrutiny Committee will be held on Thursday, 18 February 2016 at 10.00 am.	

NOTES

- 1. Timings given above are only indicative and not intended to inhibit Members' discussions.
- 2. Members are reminded that, if they have a pecuniary or non-pecuniary interest in any item of business coming before the meeting, that interest should be declared prior to commencement of discussion on that item. Such declaration will be recorded in the Minute of the meeting.

Membership of Committee:- Councillors G. Logan (Chairman), W. Archibald, K. Cockburn, A. Cranston, I. Gillespie, S. Mountford, A. J. Nicol and J. Torrance.

Please direct any enquiries to Judith Turnbull, 01835 826556 judith.turnbull@scotborders.gov.uk